School Nutrition

Dr. Debra Morris


Director, School Nutrition
Dr. Debra Morris
706-367-5151, ext. 17103

Jackson County School Nutrition Program is committed to providing high quality meals and services to students and staff in a manner that promotes good health and enhances the learning process.

The school nutrition program provides a nutritious breakfast and lunch for school children every day. The program provides meals that meet at least two-thirds of the recommended daily dietary allowances. Each day school lunch choices include protein rich entrees, vegetables, fruit, enriched or whole grain breads and cereals, and fat free or low fat milk.

Our department is an extension of the educational process of the school district. It maintains compliance with the federally-funded National School Lunch Act, the Georgia Department of Education, and the Jackson County Board of Education.

Sources of funding include income from students and adults, federal reimbursement for student meals, state funds,  and food provided by the U.S. Department of Agriculture.

Five members of the Jackson County School System’s School Nutrition Department were honored with the annual Shining Star awards in May 2018 . From left are Alice Alexander, Mary Helen Richardson and Gracelyn Jones; Pam Comer and Brandy Moon also were recognized for “contributions toward the continued success of the Jackson County School Nutrition Program.” The awards were presented by Dr. Debra Morris, who directs the program.

School Nutrition District Office Staff

Manager Supervisor
Sinde Chambers


Administrative Assistant
Mistene Pruitt


Diane Epps